Lesson #1

‘ In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since: “Whenever you feel like criticizing anyone just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.”‘

                        – “The Great Gatsby” by Scott Fitzgerald.

And be grateful for the advantages you’ve been chosen over millions of others to possess.

So simple yet hard to remember and harder still to follow.

It was a beautiful day in Tucson yesterday without the dreadful heat. But I had none apart from my 2 year old to savor it with. So, I felt crappy and began criticizing my home-bound friends and my own boring life when I saw a man, smiling and chatting with the employees of Fry’s where I’d gone for a coffee. With the hooks on his artificial limbs he piled 2 gallons of milk onto his cart and pushed it towards the check-out counter. As he passed me by, flirting with the lady who had served my coffee, I saw him perched upon artificial legs and believe me when I say I felt like slapping myself for crying over my so-called “misery”.

I hastily called up my husband, Prasad, to tell him how grateful I am for a blessed life. Instead of criticizing my friends for not having given me company I thanked them in my mind for a few moments of solitude and reflection.

I know I will forget the lesson as easily as it struck me but I’ll try and make a daily habit of being non-judgmental.

By the way not a single friend is ready for a visit to the zoo…. Hmph!

4 thoughts on “Lesson #1

  1. Wow!! This is soo true..it happens to me also, when I feel so depressed, I think about the people around who are less fortunate than me, i thank God for giving such a wonderful life with such wonderful people around me 🙂

  2. It is so true we some time really forget of what we have and think about what we dont…we should enjoy the moment instead of feeling bad… 🙂 🙂 kya paatha kal ho na ho.. 😛

Leave a Reply

