Veggie Tacos

I’m a big fan of Mexican food, especially a Veggie Fajita and exclusively Prasad-made. He carefully chops up the veggies asking me to please be seated while the Master is at work. He then fries them and transfers them to a bowl. Next, he cooks the Spanish rice. While that is boiling and simmering he blends avocados, onions, jalapenos, cilantro and squeezed lemon juice in a tiny Magic Bullet jar to make a holy-guacamole. In the end he warms the soft corn tortillas and prepares a fajita by folding each tortilla once to hold a spoonful of Spanish rice, a handful of cooked veggies and a dollop of creamy guacamole. This is how our chef whips up a nifty Veggie Fajita.

A Veggie Taco is made the same way. Here, instead of the soft tortilla, a fried tortilla called Taco is used to add a crunch to this Mexican dish.This time I decided to give it a try and bought a box of Old El Paso Taco shells to hold the contents from spilling over.

Mixing  an entire pack of store-bought Spanish rice with 2 cups of water and a tablespoon of vegetable oil, I let it cook until well done.

In a thick-bottomed pan I took some oil and fried vegetables like slivers of onion, broccoli florets, chopped bell-pepper, zucchini cut in thin quarters and a whole can of my favorite Black beans. To this mix I also added a big chunk of Soy-chorizo (Add it if you find it. It makes a lot of difference!) and fried and fried until a few tossed into my mouth didn’t feel raw. I sprinkled some salt and pepper and set the mix aside.

I was beginning to feel surprised at being allowed to prepare Prasad’s signature dish on my own when he ventured to make the guacamole himself. He made a smooth  delicious paste of all the ingredients I have listed in the beginning and dressed up our Tacos for their photo-op.

ImageImage

Don’t they look pretty??? Well, they tasted good too but, of course, not as tasty as when our Head Chef makes’em!

3 thoughts on “Veggie Tacos

  1. OMG!!! You dont believe it, my mouth was actualy watering while reading this!! You can write a cook book too!! And it looks gr8!! Now I have added these in the list of “Dishes that will be prepared by Bhava and Manasa when I go there”..Yippiee!! Cant wait!!

Leave a Reply

