Genius- born or made?

When browsing for something interesting and insightful to read in my precious few spare minutes I came across this blog whose author helps people understand how we learn and how we can do it better. So, naturally, I was hooked. One of the articles “Do you have a rage to learn?” appeared to jump out and question me; I decided to probe into it.

Scott Barry Kaufman, its writer, claims at the opening of the article that our traits don’t come pre-packaged at birth. I was shocked. I’d always assumed we weren’t born with a clean slate. Apparently we are. According to Mr. Kaufman, a psychologist at NYU, the rate at which our abilities develop differs us from one another. So, a prodigy becomes one due to her “rage to learn”.

He also adds this- “Genius involves figuring out who you are, and owning yourself. It’s about amplifying your best traits and compensating for the rest. Geniuses grab life by the horns, and persevere amidst setbacks. They take control of their lives, instead of waiting for others to open up doors. In this very important sense, greatness is completely, utterly, made.”– about Geniuses which I had to quote instead of para-phrasing as I found it very inspiring.

If a Genius is made and a Genius one becomes by owning oneself and being the best one can be, it means there is hope for my little girl. Medha can be made a Genius too, that is, if I let her be what she really wants to be and accept the path which she chooses to tread on. Now will I be able to refrain from pushing my own unfulfilled dreams upon her tiny head? About that I can’t be absolutely certain.

2 thoughts on “Genius- born or made?

  1. You are actually contradicting the whole phenomenon!! You mentioned that “I will be able to refrain from pushing “”my”” own unfulfilled dreams”?? Now the whole point of Mr.Kaufman is that, genius is made by one’s capability to learn and you are wishing that Medha will become genius? What about you? You are supposed to motivate the readers by promising to be genius yourself!! Its not just the little girl, its for you as well!!!

  2. Yes… At 26 I’m still learning who I am and figuring out what gives me the most happiness in life. So, in a way I’m working towards being a “Genius”. I’m hoping I let Medha find her true calling instead of dragging her down my path.

Leave a Reply

