Greetings!

I don’t think of you often,

Only when I have 2 piles of laundry and a sinkful of dishes to wash.

And when my war-zone-like home needs deep cleansing.

Oh, I think of you when I have to cook food just to watch it tossed to the floor

by a toddler who always has something else planned

When all I want to do is to sleep like a bear.

“My life’s dictated by a 2 year old!”, I cry,

and wonder how you managed it all;

Well, maybe I do think of you often.

Being a mother myself must have turned me thoughtful and a little more grateful.

Mom, I think of what you’ve gone through-

Day in and day out, handling one’s tantrums and the other’s wrath;

Educating us well with the few resources that you and dad had.

A thankless job, you must have felt while you were at it-

But now I must thank you.

Today, on your birthday, I want you to sit back, your legs resting upon a table

And a hot cup of coffee in your hand and  know that

you did and are still doing a fine job after all.

Happy Birthday, Mom!

And now a proud Grandma!

 

4 thoughts on “Greetings!

  1. WOW!!! This is really nice!! We all loved it (Especially mom!) SHe tried calling u 2thank for this wonderful bday gift, but you dint pick. Hope to talk 2u tomrw :):)

Leave a Reply

