Hanging in there!

I took a break from regular posting and I am still not totally back yet. I am writing to let you know that I haven’t given up on blogging. Nothing worth mentioning is happening at the home-front. One is continuing to go to pre-school and the other is, as always, busy at work. Ah, I chauffeur these two around.

Important things have cropped up that need my attention: A better volunteering opportunity is just round the corner and a Kannada Association event needs to be organised. I’m not good at juggling a hundred different things simultaneously like some moms I know. So when there’s a time-crunch I drop the less-important tasks from my to-do list. One of those tasks is posting on my blog, an activity that gives me the most satisfaction. Yes, in my marathon towards an unknown goal I forgo the one thing that makes me happy.

Some days, with my voice louder, I have to ask myself, for god’s sake please pause to look around now and then: to really gaze into my little girl’s big, brown eyes as she falls asleep in my arms; to smell the unexpected rain in the midst of a prickly summer and to listen to my favorite Saxophone music without trying to finish a few chores in parallel.

When I was rummaging through my hard disc looking for my daughter’s pictures to make a new album I was stunned to realize that she had grown from a tiny, babbling baby to a little person with thoughts, emotions and intelligence in a short span of few months! How did that happen? WHEN did that happen? When I was busy cleaning my house? I hope not!  I want to make these days special for her, for us. “The Happiness Project” author Gretchen Ruben’s words “The days are long, but the years are short.” comes to mind. I will make an effort not to take these days, long and tiring even though they seem, for granted as the years will slip by soon.

2 thoughts on “Hanging in there!

Leave a Reply

