Brussel Sprouts Pulao

When I found a stalk of Brussel Sprouts at Trader Joes I knew I had to try the recipe for its Pulao I had once glanced at in this website.

I modified the recipe to suit my taste and also to avoid shopping for ingredients I had run out of. The cooking didn’t take long and the dish came out subtle and delicious. I’m not boasting but my husband couldn’t stop raving about it! Try it…. It’s that good!

First I made a paste of-
2 tablespoons of Cashews
a teaspoon of ginger
1 garlic clove
some Coriander leaves
3 Green Chillis
2 cloves
a tablespoon of coriander seeds
an inch of cinnamon
a teaspoon of cumin and
a teaspoon of pepper

I set aside a cup and a half of rice with about 4 cups of water in a rice cooker and let it cook.

Then I heated some oil in a skillet. To it I added an onion sliced thinly. After browning the onion slices I added about 15 Brussel Sprouts sliced lengthwise. In a few minutes I sprinkled some salt and turmeric.

I waited and waited and saw no sign of the Brussel Sprouts becoming soft. So I added the ground Masala paste to the mixture and tossed the whole thing into the rice cooker while the rice was cooking. That’s it…

I’m always curious to see how a new recipe turns out. It’s like magic- I toss a little bit of this; Sprinkle a little bit of that; Cook it all up and Voila! Something totally unexpected happens!

pulao

One thought on “Brussel Sprouts Pulao

Leave a Reply

