My Ideal Day.

One Productivity exercise I read about in many blogs and find truly fascinating is to jot down how I want my Ideal day to be, right from the moment I wake up to the time I fall asleep, and work to make each day come as close to this as possible. Since I’m very fond of experiments that claim to improve my life with nothing more than a piece of paper, a pen and a bit of discipline, I decided to try it and came up with a list.

Here it goes:

  •  Wake up at 5 am
  • Braindump- clear my mind off past troubles and future worries onto my journal; Record my kids’ activities in their journals. Sip a steaming cup of Tea while doing the above activities.
  • Cook while the kids are still sleeping.
  • Morning walk along with my husband. Grab a phone or camera before heading out, to capture the rising sun and his dramatic splash of sunlight on the greenery that surrounds us.
  • Breakfast time. Peruse lessons from Onward and Upward class instead of watching Barney and Friends or Elmo’s World with Medha while feeding her.
  • Project time with Medha
  • Build/ Sustain relationships through phone calls/emails.
  • Lunch.
  • Publish a post while the kids are napping.
  • A brief nap to restore my physical and mental energy so that I can make the best of the rest of the day.
  • Play with Medha and Madhav at the park.
  • Dinner
  • Storytime for my kids.
  • Reading for pleasure.
  • Off to bed at 10pm.

Well, most days don’t look like this. The day after a rough night waking up a couple of times to feed my baby doesn’t start early. I wake up groggy. And if my day doesn’t begin well it doesn’t go well.

All the things that bring me pleasure like journaling, blogging gets pushed to the backburner. The only activities I end up doing will be the basic, survival stuff like cooking, feeding and keeping the kids busy (Yes! It’s super-difficult when I’m not myself!). And I haven’t included the other 101 chores that crop up and fight for my attention like shopping for diapers, heading to the ATM, etc. Some days my kids don’t sleep long enough or eat fast enough to leave me with ample time for writing and reading. But the above list of things that make up my ideal day is far better than having none at all.

This is a sort of blueprint for how I want to live my day, everyday. When I stick to it I’m very productive. I’m well aware that there will be days when I’m unable to accomplish half the things mentioned in the list like when I’m traveling or attending another boring party. My job is to make such less-than-ideal days few and far between because I thrive only when I’m disciplined.

2 thoughts on “My Ideal Day.

  1. This is great. Your schedule is busier than any employee working outside. Try to stick to it and if you can’t don’t be upset. Put that day as the day “you did something different”

Leave a Reply

