Weekly update #2

Medha’s first day of school

We were so excited for Medha on her first day of school. I couldn’t stop clicking her pictures and all of us got ready to drop her. The whole campus buzzed with excitement. The ceiling was covered in balloons; Soothing music played in the background; People dressed in costumes greeted the kids. Other parents were found to be clicking away pictures too. Medha told me she was full of “exatinement” (excitement!) as we dropped her.

P1080302

Not every kid looked as excited as Medha was about school. Many cried. Some still clung to their parents. Not my girl. She leapt off happliy from my arms into the welcoming embrace of her new school.

It’s the 3rd day today, but she went to her school as “exatined” as she was on the first.

Bombay Dyeing

Prasad and I recently bought our bedding from Bombay Dyeing. For about 8000 rupees (approx. $134) we purchased a couple of king-size bed-spreads, extra pillowcases, pillow cushions, sofa cushions and comforters. We snagged a few designer pillow covers for less than $2 each!

P1080280

 

We were bowled over by the pricing, stunning fabric colors and designs (contemporary and traditional Indian motifs). A one-stop shop, I found all the bedding I needed in one place. With a couple of kids it is so hard to shop around.  I am so in love with Bombay Dyeing now.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

I loved Hermione more than the famous Harry Potter himself. She is such a know-it-all, and if she doesn’t know something she knows where to find it- the library. “When in doubt, go to the library.”, is what she does, according to Ronald Weasley, another character in the series. I’m such a nerd, I was thrilled when she signed up for all the subjects (Arithmancy, Astronomy, Divination etc.)  for her 3rd year at Hogwarts school for Witchcraft and Wizardry. Even though she is just a character, I long to become like her, reading widely and absorbing information like a sponge.

Harry suffers a dilemma in this book. He doubts his own identity. Is he the heir of Slytherin ( a house that has turned out more dark wizards than any other) after all, he questions himself. Despite being in Gryffindor (another house, to which even Ron and Hermione belong) , he is not sure of his goodness, his courage. The Sorting hat that sorts students into different houses did try to put him in Slytherin but , in the last minute, through Harry’s sheer will, decided to place him in Gryffindor.

In the end, Dumbledore, the principal, clears his doubts by saying, ” …. It is our choices, Harry, that show us what we truly are, far more than our abilities. “, How profound is that! He might be capable of committing evil but he chooses to use his power for greater good, and that’s what matters in the end.

Loved this book. Onto the 3rd in the series- Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

Mango Season

There are mangoes everywhere. Mangoes flood our storage room and spill from boxes.  Trees laden with mangoes grow in our backyard and on our farm.

P1080320

 

The most relaxing part of my day is when the kids are fast asleep and I’m reading a book as I suck on a big, juicy Himayath (a mango variety that grows in our garden). When there’s a mango around, I don’t crave a sweet or ice cream. They are so sweet and fleshy that I don’t mind the annoying fiber that clogs the spaces between my teeth afterwards. I’m in love with these golden beauties ( and so are my kids) and wonder how I used to survive without their abundance in the US.

P1080289

Cafe Coffee Day

When my sister-in-law, Shruthi, was visiting from the US, we went to Cafe Coffee Day. Prasad and I shared a mug of Hazelnut Cappuccino which tasted (almost) as good as a Starbucks coffee. Shruthi’s “Devil’s Own”cold coffee was rich and frothy and tasted even better. We sat on comfy chairs as “All I want for Christmas….” played in the background. We were reminded of our evenings spent at Starbucks in the US. Even the ambiance made us feel we were in the US, even if it was for a short while.

IMG_20140610_191132965_HDR

On a serious note, I miss having friends here. Who do I share my deepest secrets with? Who do I spill my excitement upon? Who will hear me out and lighten my burden? Apart from a few in my family, none! It’s a new place and I’m engrossed in caring for my little ones that I’m unable to pour effort and time into building new relationships. I’ll make sure I strengthen the ones I already have.

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Weekly update #2

  1. I am so proud of Medhu..I can feel her exatinement too :):)..she is sure like her mommy..ready to take any challenge with a big smile 🙂
    Well written Manu, I was also missing mangoes and so I went and bought few from the Indian shop. It sure tastes good..And guess what, I got Harry Potter book as well 🙂 .. I wanted to read Prisoner of Azkaban as I had read only the 1st two books.. I will give my comments about the book soon 🙂

  2. First day at school and look how confident she is! Ready to take off, come what may 🙂

    Same pinch on liking Hermione more than Harry. Co-incidentally, I have begun liking Emma Watson, who played Hermione on-screen, after reading about her recently.

Leave a Reply

