Happy New Year!

I love celebrating the New Year (not staying up late, partying or bursting crackers, of course. I’ve hardly ever done that and I’ll hardly ever do so!). I love calling up friends and family, wishing them and finding out what their resolutions are. I love coming up with my own resolutions.

I love that I can let go of my past and start afresh at the dawn of a new year. I can be whoever I wish to be. I can do everything I wish to do. So every year I start by reviewing the past year, making a list of all the things I’m grateful for and planning for the year ahead.

This time I had company to do just that. My sister. She took a break from her work in Switzerland to visit us. I bought a couple of notebooks and pens and the two of us sat to jot down all our resolutions. The other members of our family found us giggling (over my sister’s “Lose 7 kg”) and encouraging (to pursue my “Send an article to a magazine/newspaper every month”) and thought it better to leave us nutcases alone. We nudged one another to come up with more goals and suggested ways to accomplish them. I’ll post my goals for 2015 soon.

But before I do that, I wanted to reflect on the past year.

Here are some highlights of 2014:

1. We moved from the USA to India to stay close to our families. I’m so glad we did, even though goodbyes were difficult.

2. Medha started school.

3.  From tracing letters and numbers to learning the alphabets and numbers 1 to 100, Medha learnt so much this past year. It didn’t even take her the whole year to reach this point, only a few months or so. I’m so proud of her accomplishment. And mine. What? It was a lot of work for me too, ok!

4. Prasad has slowly learnt the ropes of doing business in India. He was a manager at an awesome Cancer Diagnostics Manufacturing company in Tucson, but he quit his job to return to India and help his dad in his business. He’s had to start life from scratch and I’m ever so proud of him.

5. I finally sent an article to a local magazine and had it published. That has given me courage and confidence to write some more and ship.

6. I read all the Harry Potter books and bonded with my sister over discussing them. I’m thinking of reading Jane Austen books this year. I have started with “Emma”; Let’s see if I’m able to read the others as well.

7. I learnt so much from doing “29 things to do before I turn 29”. I haven’t accomplished all the things in my list (I still have half a year to go before I turn 29) but I have done SO MUCH. Had I not set goals and worked towards them, I wouldn’t have done half the things I already did. I learnt so much about myself from this exercise. More on this in another post.

8. Participated in “30 days of lists”. This makes me want to participate in other challenges.

9. We visited Masinagudi and stayed at Jungle Retreat. I just loved the trip. This experience deserves a separate post as well.

10. Madhav evolved from a blob to a bubbly toddler who is all over the place all the time, which means I’m all over the place all the time, to keep up with him!

11. I got back a friend I’d lost long back. You know who you are!

12. We ate a lot of mangoes this year. Big, Juicy, Sweet Mangoes…. Yum!

13. I danced, laughed, cried, hugged, missed, loved, read and learnt so much.

14. Last but not the least, 2014 saw my sister go through a lot of ups and downs, professionally and personally. It was a roller-coaster ride for me as well, so attached to her that I am. It was great that she could come and spend time with us. We went for long walks; We cooked meals for the family; We discussed books; We shopped for pearls; We dined out; We talked.

I hope this new year opens a new chapter in her life. And mine. And in the lives of all the people I love and care.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Cheers!

( I celebrated the New Year by watching the movie PK. LOVED IT!)

picture365-1

 

 

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Wow, you had a published article as well! I’m sure it was just the stepping stone. Hang in there and keep it up.

    Kudos to Medha, I can understand how troubling the transition must have been for her. But she pulled it off and how. Pat your back too, I know you worked hard. It’s difficult to inspire the child to keep at it while holding your patience. Been there, done that!

    Felt so good to read about all the things your did with Madhu. Hope 2015 brings positive changes in her life. Wishing her lots of happiness.

    PK – I watched it and loved it too. Would love to read your review on it Manu. I’m planning to write a review myself (Brainstorming for contents to survive the marathon 😛 )

    1. Oh u did not like pk? Dont tell me! U have always liked every movie u watched! (remember, “do u know how much effort goes into making a movie???”…. your dialog!) By the way happy new year! I knew I’d missed wishing someone! 🙂

  2. This is really good. I cannot thank you enough for being there for me and holding my hands at every step i was taking. Thanks for everything manu.,loads of love and a wonderful new year to you and our whole family!!!

Leave a Reply

