Blogathon 2015

I dozed off as I read a book to Medha. Prasad couldn’t believe I was sleeping without publishing my post for the day. He tried waking me up, but I found it hard to keep my eyes open. It felt good to be sleeping. Really good. Nothing else mattered … Even the Blogathon. The Blogathon? The LAST DAY OF THE BLOGATHON? I awoke with a jolt of understanding that I HAD to finish the race, I HAD to publish the last post of this marathon blogging. I had come so far…Now I had to see it through.

When Seema asked me whether I’d be interested in participating in the Blogathon, I agreed without giving much thought to it, although I was slightly scared, and excited too.

At the start of a new year I’m always looking for new challenges, new goals for myself. I accepted this one as a personal challenge, without realizing how big a challenge and what a learning and transformative experience it was going to be.

I wasn’t posting regularly before this marathon began. I only posted once, or maybe twice, a week, which itself felt like a lot of work. I knew not how I’d be posting everyday, for 31 days, even on Sundays. SUNDAYS! When all I do on that day is eat a hearty meal at a restaurant, sleep the whole afternoon, shop for the next week’s grocery and spend time with Prasad reminiscing about the ‘American life’ we left behind, over a big cup of Cafe Latte at Cafe Coffee Day. Who has the time to publish a post on Sunday?? I wondered.

But I did. This exercise of posting regularly pushed me beyond what I thought I am capable of. It stretched my limits. I didn’t know I had it in me to come up with something to write everyday. I always thought I wasn’t imaginative enough, that I wasn’t capable of generating ideas. But I managed to, sometimes in the nick of time.

For a month, I put on a new “lens” and saw my life differently. Everything about it was examined to see whether it could be used to churn out a fresh post. I took on new experiences with gusto; I read through my journals to see if anything could be turned into a post during a busy day; I tried new recipes to post my experience preparing them. In order to post something each day, I tried to make my life a bit more interesting and exciting than it already is.

Is that bad?

I always assumed my brain couldn’t function late at night. When I realized I only had a chunk of time between 10 pm to midnight, that was not interrupted by the kids or chores that needed my attention, I decided to work on my posts at night, after the kids went to bed. It was hard in the beginning, but, gradually, my brain became habituated to working at those hours. Like I said, this challenge broke my own perceptions about myself. I began thinking,”If I can do THIS, why not try ‘y'”?, the ‘y’ being anything from trying a new recipe everyday and posting my experience, for a month, to, writing a book by typing a 500 words each day, for about 6 months.

I’m big on projects and goals. I start off with zest, putting a lot of time into their planning and preparation. But somewhere along the way my enthusiasm fizzles and all I’m doing is trying to find the nearest way out. But something about this challenge made me want to stick it out, through thick and thin. I think it was because I wasn’t attempting to do this in a vacuum, all by myself. It felt like I was doing this with a bunch of friends, friends who took time from their busy schedules to leave a comment (or two) for everything I posted, friends who gave me that little nudge of encouragement to continue posting when the going got tough. It felt like I finally found a community of like-minded people.

Thank you all… YOU made this journey worthwhile.

Thank you Seema for letting me join the ride!

And before I forget, I want to thank my husband and my little sis for being my cheerleaders and in my husband’s case, a harsh critic as well. Thank you! I wouldn’t have been able to do this without your support, encouragement, ideas, enthusiasm and love.

Now I’m off to have a good night’s sleep.(I hope the little one doesn’t wake me up early in the morning, like he usually does!)

4 thoughts on “Blogathon 2015

  1. 🙂 I started the post laughing big and ended up thinking of how exactly your posts reflected my thoughts. You said almost everything I wanted to say about participating in the Blogathon. I’m exactly the same about making big plans and at some point lose track of them owing to the lack of inspiration. You were true in saying that ppl who participated in the Blogathon were the real inspiration and kick behind us doing it successfully from the start to the end. Congrats on completing it.
    Hope you had a nice sleep and is having a great day. 🙂

  2. Thanks u! 🙂 Congrats to u too! You’ve been too kind to me on this journey! Thanks for that! I hope you continue to read my posts… By the way, what’s your big plan/goal for February? I’m still deciding whether to pick “Do elliptical for 15 minutes everyday” or “Learn to sew”. One at a time, is what I’m capable of working on, is what I’ve realized about myself.

  3. I am really very proud of you!! Keep up the good work and like I always say, never stop writing. You are really good at it.
    Now i am waiting for your next Review on some Restaurant 🙂 🙂
    But what does 2321 mean? Did i miss out on something?

    1. Nothing kane… in my rush to fnish the post, I forgot to title the page! The wordpress itself came up with something.
      I will keep writing if u promise to keep reading what I write! 🙂

Leave a Reply

