Biking in Switzerland

Switzerland is also known as Veloland; Velo means ‘cycle’ in Swiss-German. Cycles/Bikes are one of the best and cheapest means of transport here. You’ll find that every adult and a child, capable of walking, owns at least one bike.

When I moved to Switzerland, I bought a second-hand bike from a friend. It had been 10 years since I last rode one. I cycled everyday from my home to office and back. I began enjoying this National pastime more and more. Having noticed this, Mike (then, a good friend) and a few colleagues and friends of mine gifted me a beautiful bike on my birthday. It was one of the sweetest gestures ever extended to someone new to a country!

Birthday gift

In Spring and Summer, people take out their bikes and go on trips. These trips last a day, a weekend or sometimes more. There are local, regional (from one canton to another) and National routes (connecting Switzerland to other countries like Austria, France etc). Check out this cool website for more information on that.

Serious cyclists bike over beautiful mountains, valleys and even cross the Alps. Also, many events occur all over Switzerland that revolve around Biking. One such event is the SlowUp. SlowUp is all about celebrating the joy of movement. It takes place in many parts of the country in the month of June. For this purpose, around 30 km of roads are blocked for an entire day to the other traffic. Along the route, from Schaffhausen to Hegau, there are ongoing festivities with food, music and shops.

This year, Mike and I, my mother-in-law, my sister-in-law and her family, my husband`s best friend, Guido, who is as dear to my husband as a brother, took part in it.

SlowUp 1

Around 20,000 other people from every age-group participated too.

SlowUp 2

One Saturday morning, Mike and I decided to ride our bikes to Mammern harbor, where our boat, MyOne is docked. It is  approximately 30 km from our home and takes us about 2 hours to reach there by bike. For my convenience, Mike found the easiest route to get there.

Directions

From Dachsen, we rode to Feuerthalen, crossing Flurlingen and the ancient city of Schaffhausen. After that, we rode across hilly roads to Diessenhofen and passed through the picturesque villages of Rheinklingen and Wagenhausen. From there we rode along the touristy town of Stein am Rhein to Eschenz. The ride from Eschenz to our harbor was a bit taxing as we had to ascend a small plantation to finally reach our destination. We had carried some bottles of water and snacks for the ride, which really helped.

Bike ride

The ride took us through some of the most beautiful landscapes I had ever seen in my life. Beautiful houses, the sparkling Lake Constance, lush greenery everywhere completely boggled my mind. We’ve been doing this more often ever since…

Leave a Reply

