Around here

Around here-

    1. The kids have Dasara holidays for more than 15 days, which is good in a way, because it is so hot outside; But it also means that we’re spending most of our time at home, which equals to- more work for me! Keeping the 2 hyper-active Monkeys entertained and busy, so that they don’t tear each other’s (& my) hair out is a job no less demanding!

    2. We’ve been doing a ton of kiddo projects in the mornings. It helps time pass quickly and the things we make, keep the  kids happy for the rest of the day. Plus, it cuts down on all that TV-watching! So here’s how it goes-

        “Mama I want a guitar to play”

        “Chalo, let’s make one”

         “Make one? But I want a store-bought one- shiny and new!

         “OK… Let’s go shopping later”

          Waits, waits and waits for the said shopping and the shiny new thing to materialize. And when that doesn’t happen, simply because mama’s not all that into shopping and also because she wants her kiddos to become expert creators rather than consumers! Then something amazing happens- The kid says-

         “OK. Let us check the tablet then. We might get some new ideas”

Together we browse Pinterest for a while (an activity I super-enjoy doing with Medha!) and figure out how to make a Guitar (or a binocular or a crown or something else that she fancies on a particular day) and get working. I do the measuring and cutting, while she does all the gluing and decorating. Messy though it gets, especially when Madhav is around, we somehow end up enjoying the process and the reward later.

Rock star with handmade guitar
Rock star with handmade guitar
Little Explorer using a homemade binocular
Little Explorer using a homemade binocular

    3. I’m getting Medha to learn a few new words every single day. I thought it would be complicated- getting her to build and remember complex words- but somehow she’s learning and remembering them too. The World of words has finally opened its doors to Medha and has taken her along for a long, bumpy ride. And it looks like she’s enjoying it too, scared and dazed though she sometimes is.

    4. Like checking the Weather forecast every morning, We’ve taken to asking Madhav, “What are you today?”, everyday. And his answers vary from “Doggie”, “Monkey” to “Hexagon”, “Roller-skates” etc. He doesn’t mind being called a scrawny Mouse too! This little fella sure knows how to crack everyone up!

    5. I’ve been thinking about and preparing one-bowl meals like “Brown Rice and Thai Red Curry with lots of veggies and Tofu”, “Pasta with homemade Tomato Sauce along with lightly-sauteed veggies and a side of toasted Brown Bread” for dinner. Light and healthy!So what’s next? Mmmmm???

    6. I tried this easy facial at home and enjoyed the effect on my skin! I’m planning to do it more often. For hair-conditioning I simply grab a handful of Hibiscus leaves, pull a few Brahmi (Thyme-leaved Gratiola) plants and pluck a couple of tender stalks of Curry-leaves from our Garden and grind them along with a cube or two of Aloe and a drizzle of Olive Oil and apply it to my scalp, leaving it for an hour or so before washing it off. .

It’s hard to make time to do all these when there’s so much going on, but the end result is SO worth all the trouble, I tell ya.

    7. I’m reading the book, “Palace of Illusions” by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, and taking copious amounts of notes. I’m loving every bit of the reading, pondering, writing, reminiscing (the time spent watching Mahabharatha on TV or listening to the stories narrated by my Grandma) and discussing the book, its characters and the humanity presented in it, with Prasad on our walks. .

    8. The kids (Prasad included) are totally excited about our next trip-  this Tiger Reserve in Madhya Pradesh. Me? I’m excited too. But I’m also equally nervous about the long drive to the National Park (how do I keep the kids busy?!) and the packing needed to carry our essentials for a week-long vacation!

     9. We watched quite a few good movies in Theaters. I loved “The Martian” the most. Go Matt Damon!!!!

    10. I’m trying so hard to banish negative thoughts and actions from my life in order to conserve my energy and make room for things that truly matter to me, like this blogging journey with my sis, reading and learning as much as I can (“I want to learn everything about everything”, Medha’s motto, which has become my motto too!) and teaching the kids and watching their progress.

Love,

Manasa

4 thoughts on “Around here

  1. Superb account of all the lovely experiences Manu!
    In this era of ‘busy world’ you are able to capture the essence of life so well.
    You are a great example for your kids and us too you know!
    Keep writing!!

Leave a Reply

