Decorating my new home

I’ve always been interested in Interior Designing. If it was not for the “Engineering” or “Doctor” degree trend during the 90s, I would have chosen ID as my profession. Well, so what if I’m not an Interior designer, that doesn’t stop me from trying and using my creativity to spruce up my home. I’m always on the look-out for home décor ideas on Pinterest and implementing them in my own ways.

This is not a post about interior designing, where I tell you how to work with your space and transform it. I just wanted to share with you the things I have used (some handmade, some bought and some gifted by loved ones) to make our home extra colorful and warm.

  1. Entrance

At the entrance to our home is a simple white lantern. We call it our guardian as it stays outside, by the door. We bought it at a store called Mauch at Hilzingen (in Germany).

Entrance

  1. Hallway

In the hallway, I’ve hung 2 beautiful frames of Egyptian art on the wall. They are made of papyrus and were given to me by my mother-in-law, who purchased them in Egypt during her travels. I’ve used golden colored frames to give them an authentic look.

On the door as you enter our home, I’ve displayed a wall-hanging given by my mom that is usually found in most Indian homes.

  1. Shoe stand

I got the idea for a shoe-stand from this website. The store sells wooden boxes in different types and colors. You can make shoe stands, coffee table, book cases, showcases etc. using them. We chose rustic-brown colored boxes to make our shoe stand.

Shoe stand

  1. Guest Bedroom

For our guest bedroom, we hung these beautiful frames showing birds during different seasons, gifted by my mom. She bought them in one of the stalls at  Global Village, Dubai.

Guest Bedroom

  1. Living room 

a. Most of the furniture in our home is made of wood. We have a wooden flooring too. To make all the elements in our home more cohesive, we have chosen mostly wooden/ rustic/ golden colored items to decorate our rooms. Even our curtains are golden in color. Beside the curtains, I have hung golden hanging chains to give our living room an oriental look.

Living Room

b.Side boards: I don’t have a show-case to display the souvenirs I’ve collected during my travels. So I’ve placed them on this wooden side board in the living room. It has valuable pieces from Switzerland, Australia, New Zealand, Malta and India. What you see at the center that looks like a cave is called “Amethstdrusen”.

Living Room 2

c.I’ve hung family pictures, again in golden colored frames. I bought the frames at Madal Bal in Schaffhausen.

Living Room 3

d. I’ve placed statues of Lord Ganesh, on handmade Crochet mandalas on a vintage style table. I bought the table at Madal Bal.

IMG_20160612_190608

Living room 4

  1. Kitchen

The idea to use this closet from Ikea was inspired by my mother-in-law. As soon as I saw this in her kitchen, I was eager to buy one for our home too. But sadly I couldn’t find this in any of the Ikea shops I knew. My sweet mother-in-law drove all the way to St. Gallen to buy this for me for my birthday.

Kitchen

  1. Bathrooms

I have used handmade crochet mandalas as mats to place our toiletries..

  1. Winter Garden / Library

I bought the bookshelves online from here. I wanted strong rustic shelves with an antique look. I placed small knick-knacks from Mauch, along with the books. The Golden lantern is from Morocco, again a gift from my Mom- in-law and the black lantern is from Mauch (They really have some nice stuff for home).

Library 3

These are some of the things I have chosen to make my home a bit more vibrant. I adhered to my “shopping” budget as I went around beautifying, instead of splurging all our hard-earned money. You can do the same, by putting in some extra hours of searching (online and at local stores) and going the diy route whenever possible.

Happy making your home sweet home a tad more sweeter!

Love,

Madhurya.

6 thoughts on “Decorating my new home

Leave a Reply

