What to do when you feel like doing NOTHING at all?

We all have such days, don’t we? When you know you have loads to do, but you don’t know where to begin? When the music that would normally instantly cheer you up, starts to irritate you? When all you want to do is sit (or even better, sleep) and wait for someone to talk to you, find out what’s bothering you, listen to your woefully endless piteous whining, when you yourself don’t know what’s going on inside your head?

I go through such days. Every few months.

And when such a thing happens, it takes me a while (or a lot longer) to get myself out of the fog. A few comforting words from friends and family might help me for a while. Getting out of myself, out of my home and into the World helps too. Listening to inspiring podcasts fills me with new enthusiasm, watching Do-it-yourself videos on Youtube brightens me up. But not for long. No sooner do I bubble with pleasure than my zest fizzles out.

Here are a few other things I try-

  • Traveling and exploring a new place, even if its a new restaurant in town, and meeting new people helps.
  • Retail Therapy helps some, but buying more stuff only creates buyer’s remorse in me.
  • Reading a good book helps too, but finding a book that will make me forget myself, my “worries” (’cause, seriously, most of the time my worries are my own creations!) will take me a lot of tries before I lay hands on “the one”.
  • Putting my phone and other electronic gadgets aside does the trick many a times.
  • Going for a long walk, preferably through streets lined with trees, with birds keeping me company perks me up.
  • Meditation helps and so does journaling- dumping all that noise in my head down onto paper.

I try everything I’ve mentioned above, one by one, little by little. And when they too fail to lift me up and put me back on track, then I……………………………………………………………

Don’t worry…. I don’t take this great blessing called Life for granted. So I’ll Thank God for letting me live, breathe and enjoy another Glorious day. I’ll Thank him (or her) for letting my loved ones live, breathe and enjoy this Glorious day too. And I’ll list the other big and small things I’m grateful for. And feel myself getting better.

Taking a deep, deep breath I’ll trudge on. The first few steps will be rocky, strenuous, an uphill climb. I’ll even find myself going back to where I began. Then I remind myself that I’ve been through this path. Many, many times before. I’ve seen its bends and experienced its falls.

I know I’ll make it past this hurdle and onto a smoother terrain eventually, however long it takes. I know I’ll be myself again.. 🙂

Thanks for being so patient with me. I hope my rambling makes sense to some of you at least.

With a truckload of love for y’all,

Manasa!

2 thoughts on “What to do when you feel like doing NOTHING at all?

    1. Thanks dear!!! I know, right? All it takes is giving yourself some time to get out of the funk. I feel so better already! 🙂 thanks for taking time to read!!!

Leave a Reply

