Weekly update #3

Last week was more about being reflective than active. Instead of spending time writing about my present, I dug the archives of this blog to seek out past posts I like. I’m doing  that as part of an email-based course I’m learning called Spark . The instructor, Kam, suggested making a list of my 10 favorite posts and examine why they stand out in order to rekindle my passion for blogging. Here are a few that I enjoyed reading:

1. Durango (part 1)

2. Durango (part 2)

3. Durango (part 3)

4. A weekend Hike

5. I hate the heat

6. Blogging despite opposition

7. What a mess!

8. Lesson # 2

9. A festival to remember and reflect.

10. Greetings!

As I read some of my old posts I was flooded with a wave of nostalgia. Reading about our travels made me yearn for a get-away. Looking at the pictures of my girl during her toddler-hood drove away the complacent thought that I have all the time in the world. I don’t. My kids are growing so fast!

Also, reading some of those posts made me realize I wasn’t such a bad writer after all and perfectly capable of coming up with good content for my blog. I’m enjoying the exercise. I hope you enjoy reading some of the above posts.

Last week, when things were going downhill for me, I also reflected on my blessings and listed all the things I’m grateful for in my life. Here goes-

I’m grateful for

1. being able to stay close to family, yet get away into my own cozy den when I pine for privacy and serenity.

2. a couple of playful, energetic kids that keep my days busy and merry and also my waistline at a minimal size.

3. Prasad, my sister and my parents who read my ramblings here and encourage me to do more of it!

4. My Samsung tablet that is light enough to carry around everywhere. I get most of my reading done on Kindle.

5. Medha’s education which has blessed me with a new purpose in life.

6. an opportunity to reside in India, my own country, where my everyday experiences are pushing and pulling my growth in new directions.

7. the amount of time I’m spending with my kids. I feel blessed to watch them blossom.

8. Evernote, an app, that lets me plan my day and organize my goals and thoughts.

9. a lush Mango and Jackfruit season.

10. a beautiful home and a densely green and secluded neighborhood.

Habitually reflecting on my blessings helps me get past the tiny discomforts that gnaw at my peace of mind.

What are you grateful for today?

Author: Manasa

I'm Manasa, a mother of 2, a teacher, a reader and a writer, living in a big family in India. With this blog my sister and I wish to share our stories of motherhood and travels. When I'm not cooking elaborate meals while listening to podcasts , I'm watching booktubers and chick-flicks on Netflix.

2 thoughts on “Weekly update #3”

  1. Today I was grateful about having Harry Potter book with me. It keeps me so entertained these days. Loving every bit of it 🙂
    Great blog Manu,,so happy to know that you are enjoying India so much. Its very hard to find people who see the positive side of our country. Great going!

    Like

Leave a comment